Panchdev Worship

Home / Panchdev Worship

The five main Devtas worship system of sanatan Dharma

Panch Devta is the concept of five gods in Hinduism. The Panch Dev that are worshipped are Shri Vishnu, Shri Shiva, Shri Ganesha, Aadishakti and Shri Surya narayan. The concept of Panch Devta is more popular with Hindu communities in North India. The five gods are worshipped daily in homes. Those people who worship the five gods are known as Panchopasak.

For fasting and other related rituals, the Panchopasak follows the Smarta Tradition.

Panch Dev Puja is believed to help in attaining happiness, progress and peace.

“The main purpose of Panch–Dev pooja is to give Happiness, Peace and Contentment. Good thoughts emerge in the mind and divine energy is manifested in the body and the behavior experiences a sense of freedom by which the mind is easily directed toward Bra’hmaan.

The Panch devtas are manifestations of Brahman who is unthinkable, un-manifested, unlimited and without a form. Bra’hmaan can only be known by those who are free from the worldly ties and have no expectations from society.

It is very difficult to achieve such a state and to visualize the image of any person or a devta without first seeing him is all the more arduous. The same applies to BRA’HMAAN also. Thus, to experience the divine (NIRAAKAR BRA’HMAAN) in the deep recesses of our mind, we have to first worship the SAKAAR BRA’HMAAN (The lord that has a name and form).

The concept of Panch Dev was developed by teachers of Santana Dharma to help common people who are not able to understand the concept of Brahman.

PANCHADEV PUJA VIDHI Published by Hindu heritage Society, Sydney.

Here is a brief introduction of Panchadevta.


Om Gam Ganapataye Namaha. Salutations unto Thee.
Remover of all obstacles, Pranava Swaroopi,
Embodiment of wisdom, Devata of Muladhara Chakra!
O Lord Vinayaka, The bestower of happiness
Who has Modaka in hand! O Elephant-headed Lord!

Lord Ganesha is the elephant-headed God. He is worshipped first. His Names are repeated first before any auspicious work is begun, before beginning any kind of worship.

He is the Lord of power and wisdom. He is the eldest son of Lord Siva, and the elder brother of Skanda or Kartikeya. He is the energy of Lord Siva, and so He is called the son of Sankara and Uma. By worshipping Lord Ganesha, mothers hope to earn for their sons the sterling virtues of GaneshaIn the Indian tradition, we start everything by chanting ‘Shri Ganeshaya Namah’.

Infect the word Shri Ganesh has come to replace the word ‘commence’ in our daily language. Also known as GAJANAN He is the VIGHNESHWAR (the remover of all obstacles) and the giver of RIDDHI and SIDDHI (the names of His two wives meaning prosperity, growth and accomplishments and success). Ganesh or Mangalmurti (an embodiment of auspiciousness) is the PRANAV or AUM itself.


“Let me meditate on the supreme god who wears the crescent moon as a crown, whose dazzling form is adorned by the five elements of the universe, who holds in his four hands the weapon of the axe, the deer, who is fulfillment and forgiveness, as his worshipper desires, who sits on the world lotus in perpetual repose, who is of wisdom, desire and action, who is the source and the goal of life and who will embrace all creatures at the end removing their fear of death.”

In Hinduism, Lord Shiva is regarded as the representation of the Supreme Being. He is known as the third element in the Hindu Trinity (Trimurti), the other two members being Lord Brahma – the creator and Lord Vishnu – the protector. Shiva is the destructive form of the Almighty. As the cycle of destruction and recreation is always in a circle, Shiva’s primary responsibility is maintaining the life cycle.

Scholars say, as the Mahakaal, Shiva destroys and dissolves everything into nothingness but as Shankara, he also reproduces that which has been destroyed and dissolved. His symbol of Lingam or the phallus represents this reproductive power.

The age old tradition of the Rishis of Ling Upaasana is mentioned in the Shrutis, Smritis and the Puranas. Lord Shiv’s image or idol represents his saakar form (the lord that has a name and form) where as his Ling represents the supreme Brahman who is unlimited and without a form.
Lord Shiva is a great ascetic and free of inhibitions, easy to please, protector of the down trodden, and has the power to alter the laws of destiny. Thus, it is Lord Shiva is known as the God of mercy and kindness. He blesses his followers with grace, knowledge and peace.


“Let me meditate on the supreme god who rests on the serpent of Time, who rides the bird of light, whose dazzling form contains every dimension of Space, who holds in his four hands, a conch, a discus, a mace and a lotus, who is pleasure and discipline, fulfillment and forgiveness – as his devotee desires, who delights the mind and delivers the soul, who is the source and goal of life and who will embrace all creatures at the end removing fear of death.”

The foremost Lord in the Shrutis is Vishnu. All other forms of Vishnu are also described in the Shrutis. Lord Vishnu is a devout worshipper of Lord Shankar and so is Lord Shankar of Lord Vishnu. They are actually one. HARI HAR is also mentioned in all the scriptures. They are the two main deities to be worshipped. Lord Vishnu is YAGYA SWAROOP (yagya here means sacrifices) and Lord Shankar is TAP SWAROOP (Tap here means penance). Yagna and Tap are the basis of our culture.


Shrutis have praises for Shakti and Shaktiman and describe them as one and the same. The Supreme Lord manifests Himself as Param Purush and Paraa Shakti.

Param Purush is described as Brahma, Vishnu and Mahesh and His consort Paraa Shakti is known as Lakshmi, Gauri and Saraswati.

Just as the different forms of the Supreme Lord are all but one form. Similarly the different forms of the Devis – Durga, Rama, Seeta, Radha are one and the same.Devi is also worshipped as the Nav Durgas. She is Shakambari and She is Brahmari. She is Kul Kundalini and Yog Maya.

SAPTSHATI is the holy tale of the Para Shakti which is described in the Markandeya Purana. The recitation of this ‘Paath’ gives Abhuday and Nishreyas (prosperity and betterment). At the altar of the Supreme Mother, our sins are pardoned. In the world, we have heard of sons being bad but we have never heard of a Bad Mother. In this Kalyug, the shastras sing the glory of GAURI and GANESH as bestower of all glories.

About Aadi Parashakti

About ten forms of Aadi Shakti

Introduction of ten Maha vidhyas

Story of the Origin of the Das Mahavidyas

10 Forms of Shakti that are worshipped during Navratri
Durga Saptashati-Hindi

More information here


Lord Surya (Sun) is a famous Vedic deity of the Hindus. Sun is the lord of the entire solar system and hence he is the king of all the planets. Surya signifies the “atma” hence it is given the highest importance. The worship is extremely beneficial for overall wellbeing and progress in all areas of life. From the astrological point of view, Sun is the most important of all the planets and holds a special importance in life.
The sun-god, who controls the affairs of the entire universe, especially in regard to heat, light, seasonal changes and so on, is considered an expansion of Narayana. He represents the three Vedas — Rg, Yajur and Sama — and therefore he is known as Trayimaya, the form of Lord Narayana.